Today is International Day of Charities – Every year, charities all over the world help to save and improve people’s lives, fighting disease, protecting children, and giving hope to many thousands of people. To honour the important work that these many charities do, in 2012 the United Nations decided to nominate an annual International Day of Charity as an official day of recognition and celebration. The reason the date was chosen is because it is the anniversary of the death of Mother Teresa of Calcutta. This choice commemorates the tireless work that Mother Teresa did by devoting her whole life to charity work.  Mother Teresa was canonized yesterday, Sunday, September 4th in a very moving ceremony at the Vatican.

I am very fortunate to be born and raised in one of the best countries in the world – Canada – and I believe that our purpose here on earth is to make things better for those less fortunate whenever we can – even if it’s in small ways – small drops of water eventually create an ocean!

Here are links to my 4 favourite charities – not only do I support them personally, but I also donate 10% from all sales in my Etsy shop Blue World Treasures to these 4 charities at year end – splitting the proceeds 4 ways equally as they all are in equal need of support.

  1.  Because I believe Health Care is an undeniable Human Right, Doctors Without Borders is my #1 cause.
  2. Without our beautiful planet Earth, none of us would be alive, so my #2 cause is Greenpeace
  3. Our world is not only OUR home, but that of many, many other species, some of whom we lose EVERY day!  That’s why The World Wildlife Fund is my 3rd favourite cause.
  4. Finally, I believe that we ALL have the right to a productive and dignified life, where we can provide for our families through our own hard work.  That’s why I believe in the work KIVA is doing.  They provide micro loans to people who are just looking for a hand up out of poverty, not a hand out.  I have personally made loans to 90 small business owners in 37 different countries, most of whom were women looking to provide a better living and education for their families.

Even if you are not interested in my 4 pet charities, I urge you to take a look at other ways to help your community, your country and your planet.  Remember, we’re all in this together, and Planet Earth is the only home we have.

yin-yang-earth2

Earth and Ocean In Synch

